Diary of Island Girl Lifestyle

As I sit at my computer working, I took time out to send a tweet to support JayBlessed (she is trying to become the next host on 106&Park) and I can’t help but feel excited for her and the many other Caribbean women who are making their dreams a reality.

Let me tell you, there is a movement happening in our Caribbean culture.  I am seeing evidence of it all around me, especially with Caribbean women.  “Island Girls” we are taking Caribbean culture  to the next level and repacking it for the world to see the many faces and different layers of the Caribbean.

Last summer my Daddy gave me the book “Do You” by Russell Simmons and that book was the catalyst that encouraged me and gave me a road map of where to start and how to go about attain my dream. In the book, Russel Simmons said- “instead of letting other people interpret us, let’s take what we do know, what we do love, and make the entire collection ourselves” and that is the goal of Island Girl Lifestyle.  Let the world see the Caribbean through the experiences of the “Island Girl”.  We have and are contributing majorly to our communities and I want to shine a bright spotlight on all the “Island Girls” across the globe that are “changing the world, one Island Girl at a time”.

I am looking forward to the future but I am enjoying the moment I am in now. The challenge of climbing that huge mountain to get to the top.

Image Great Read!!!!

Leave a comment